MEAN WELL N78 series: Non-isolated DC-DC regulator for positive output - N7815-1PH

Description

N7815-1PH — Non-isolated DC-DC switching regulator for positive output

MEAN WELL N7815-1PH is a non-isolated DC-DC switching regulator for a positive 15 V output application, with output-current magnitude up to 1000 mA. This open-frame PCB type for horizontal mounting operates from 20–36 V DC. Connect it using the specified positive-output pin assignment and observe the load and temperature limits below.

Download MEAN WELL N78 Datasheet (PDF)
Download MEAN WELL EMI Testing Guidance (PDF)

Model section: datasheet PDF pages 1–8. Follow the table and connection drawing for this output application.

Model and output application

Manufacturer model N7815-1PH
Output application Positive output: 15 V
Package and model code PH: open-frame PCB type for horizontal mounting. The 1A designation identifies the series; the selected application current below is the applicable limit.
Other output applications The same ordering code also has a negative application at −15 V, with 8–18 V DC input and a 300 mA output-current magnitude limit. Use the corresponding pin assignment. One module does not provide both output rails simultaneously.
Typical uses Voltage step-down, point-of-load regulation in distributed power systems, industrial PCs, digital set-top boxes, data communications and microcontroller circuits. Pin-out compatibility with LM78xx/LM79xx linear regulators is specified; verify the chosen polarity, pin orientation and operating limits before substitution.

Electrical specifications

Input voltage 20–36 V DC; catalogue normal input: 24 V DC.
Input current No load: 10 mA; full load: 785 mA.
Output voltage 15 V DC in the selected application.
Output current range 0–1000 mA for this application.
Calculated output power 15 W, calculated from the selected output-voltage magnitude and maximum output-current magnitude; subject to the stated input, load and temperature limits. This is a calculation from the application table, not a separately specified power rating.
Series power range 3.3–15 W is the series-wide catalogue range. Use this application’s output voltage, current and derating limits; the series upper value is not a rating for every model or polarity.
Series capability reference The N78 series offers efficiency up to 96% and input capability up to 36 V DC across its models and applications. Use the selected application's efficiency, input range, load and temperature limits stated here; these series maxima are not individual ratings.
Efficiency 96% typical; use the general test conditions below.
Maximum capacitive load 150 µF.
Voltage accuracy ±3.0% maximum.
Ripple and noise 100 mVp-p maximum; measured at 20 MHz bandwidth with a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors connected in parallel.
Line regulation ±0.3%; measured from low to high input voltage at rated load.
Load regulation ±0.4%; measured from 0% to 100% rated load.
Switching frequency 500 kHz typical.
Internal power dissipation 500 mW as listed in the specification.
General test conditions Normal input, rated load, 25°C ambient and 70% RH unless a particular parameter states another condition. The input-current no-load column retains its stated no-load condition.

Protection and operating conditions

Input filter and fuse Capacitor input filter. An external 1500 mA slow-blow input fuse is recommended for all models in this series.
Input surge voltage 40 V maximum for 100 ms maximum; this transient limit does not extend the continuous input-voltage range.
Short-circuit protection Continuous short-circuit protection; automatic recovery after the short-circuit condition is removed.
Overload protection 200–300% as specified; recovers automatically after the fault condition is removed.
Overtemperature protection Shuts down the output voltage; automatic recovery after the unit cools.
Cooling and load derating Free-air / natural convection; no additional heatsink is required within the specified operating and load limits. The curve permits 100% load from −40°C through +71°C, then derates to 70% at +85°C. Follow the intervening curve.
Operating and case temperature Ambient −40 to +85°C subject to derating; case temperature +110°C maximum.
Humidity and storage Operating humidity: 5–95% RH, non-condensing. Storage: −55 to +125°C and 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
Temperature coefficient 0.03%/°C over 0–71°C.
Soldering temperature 265°C maximum for 3–5 seconds, measured 1.5 mm from the case.
Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle, for 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.

Dimensions and connection

Dimensions Open-frame body: 10.5 × 7.5 × 16 mm (L × W × H); the mechanical side view marks 7.50 mm maximum depth.
Mechanical drawing details PH horizontal drawing: 4.3 mm horizontal lead projection and 2.54 mm pin pitch. Pins are 0.64 × 0.64 mm, ±0.1 mm; general dimensional tolerance ±0.5 mm.
PCB / connection orientation Top-view footprint uses a 2.54 mm grid and Ø1 mm holes (+0.2/−0). The illustrated left-to-right pin order is 1, 2, 3; identify the pin-1 mark and follow the PH drawing.
Pin assignment Pin 1: +Vin; pin 2: GND; pin 3: +Vout. This is the positive-output application pin assignment.

Typical application and installation

External capacitors The typical application table specifies MLCC capacitors: input Ci = 10 µF / 50 V; output Co = 22 µF / 25 V.
Application circuit connections In the positive application, the output capacitor connects between pin 3 (+Vout) and pin 2 (GND). The schematic marks its positive side at +Vout. The input capacitor connects between +Vin and GND.
Combined positive and negative rails The illustrated combined application uses two separate modules, one wired for positive output and one for negative output, with a common ground. Select an input voltage valid for both applications. A 10 µH LDM component is recommended in the negative-module input branch to reduce interference; the diagram does not establish same-rail current sharing.
Accessories and assembly No dedicated accessory ordering code is specified in this series datasheet. External fuses, capacitors and the application-dependent inductor are circuit components selected for the system, not stated as items supplied with the regulator.

Compliance, reliability and packing

Isolation and safety Non-isolated input/output. EAC TP TC 020/2011 approved as listed in the catalogue.
EMC emission BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32): conducted emission is listed as N/A; radiated Class B is specified without additional EMC components. Observe the application-circuit and input-capacitor requirements and verify the completed system.
EMC immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 2, ±4 kV contact ESD; BS EN/EN61000-4-3: Level 2, 3 V/m; BS EN/EN61000-4-4: Level 1, 0.5 kV; BS EN/EN61000-4-5: Level 1, 0.5 kV line-to-line; BS EN/EN61000-4-6: Level 2, 3 V (e.m.f.).
MTBF 1800 K hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
Construction Open-frame PCB construction; the series plastic-case specification does not make the PV/PH open frame a cased package.
Single-unit weight reference 2 g, catalog packing reference per unit; not a measured net-weight or parcel-weight claim.
Standard packing 150 pieces per box / 395 g box gross weight; 1,800 pieces per carton (12 boxes) / 6.2 kg carton gross weight. Antistatic-foam box: 220 × 195 × 45 mm. Standard carton: 620 × 230 × 230 mm. These are manufacturer bulk-packing references, not a statement of the quantity included with an individual purchase.
Manufacturer warranty 3 years as stated in the series datasheet.

System installation and EMC

Complete-system EMC verification Verify EMC with the regulator installed in the final equipment and connected to a representative load. Wiring, assembly and the application affect the result. Follow the model's specified EMC conditions and any required external components; the linked EMI testing guidance does not certify the finished equipment.

MEAN WELL N78 series: Non-isolated DC-DC regulator for positive output - N7815-1PH

Product form

N7815-1PH — Non-isolated DC-DC switching regulator for positive output MEAN WELL N7815-1PH is a non-isolated DC-DC switching regulator for a... Read more

$12.32 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    N7815-1PH — Non-isolated DC-DC switching regulator for positive output

    MEAN WELL N7815-1PH is a non-isolated DC-DC switching regulator for a positive 15 V output application, with output-current magnitude up to 1000 mA. This open-frame PCB type for horizontal mounting operates from 20–36 V DC. Connect it using the specified positive-output pin assignment and observe the load and temperature limits below.

    Download MEAN WELL N78 Datasheet (PDF)
    Download MEAN WELL EMI Testing Guidance (PDF)

    Model section: datasheet PDF pages 1–8. Follow the table and connection drawing for this output application.

    Model and output application

    Manufacturer model N7815-1PH
    Output application Positive output: 15 V
    Package and model code PH: open-frame PCB type for horizontal mounting. The 1A designation identifies the series; the selected application current below is the applicable limit.
    Other output applications The same ordering code also has a negative application at −15 V, with 8–18 V DC input and a 300 mA output-current magnitude limit. Use the corresponding pin assignment. One module does not provide both output rails simultaneously.
    Typical uses Voltage step-down, point-of-load regulation in distributed power systems, industrial PCs, digital set-top boxes, data communications and microcontroller circuits. Pin-out compatibility with LM78xx/LM79xx linear regulators is specified; verify the chosen polarity, pin orientation and operating limits before substitution.

    Electrical specifications

    Input voltage 20–36 V DC; catalogue normal input: 24 V DC.
    Input current No load: 10 mA; full load: 785 mA.
    Output voltage 15 V DC in the selected application.
    Output current range 0–1000 mA for this application.
    Calculated output power 15 W, calculated from the selected output-voltage magnitude and maximum output-current magnitude; subject to the stated input, load and temperature limits. This is a calculation from the application table, not a separately specified power rating.
    Series power range 3.3–15 W is the series-wide catalogue range. Use this application’s output voltage, current and derating limits; the series upper value is not a rating for every model or polarity.
    Series capability reference The N78 series offers efficiency up to 96% and input capability up to 36 V DC across its models and applications. Use the selected application's efficiency, input range, load and temperature limits stated here; these series maxima are not individual ratings.
    Efficiency 96% typical; use the general test conditions below.
    Maximum capacitive load 150 µF.
    Voltage accuracy ±3.0% maximum.
    Ripple and noise 100 mVp-p maximum; measured at 20 MHz bandwidth with a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors connected in parallel.
    Line regulation ±0.3%; measured from low to high input voltage at rated load.
    Load regulation ±0.4%; measured from 0% to 100% rated load.
    Switching frequency 500 kHz typical.
    Internal power dissipation 500 mW as listed in the specification.
    General test conditions Normal input, rated load, 25°C ambient and 70% RH unless a particular parameter states another condition. The input-current no-load column retains its stated no-load condition.

    Protection and operating conditions

    Input filter and fuse Capacitor input filter. An external 1500 mA slow-blow input fuse is recommended for all models in this series.
    Input surge voltage 40 V maximum for 100 ms maximum; this transient limit does not extend the continuous input-voltage range.
    Short-circuit protection Continuous short-circuit protection; automatic recovery after the short-circuit condition is removed.
    Overload protection 200–300% as specified; recovers automatically after the fault condition is removed.
    Overtemperature protection Shuts down the output voltage; automatic recovery after the unit cools.
    Cooling and load derating Free-air / natural convection; no additional heatsink is required within the specified operating and load limits. The curve permits 100% load from −40°C through +71°C, then derates to 70% at +85°C. Follow the intervening curve.
    Operating and case temperature Ambient −40 to +85°C subject to derating; case temperature +110°C maximum.
    Humidity and storage Operating humidity: 5–95% RH, non-condensing. Storage: −55 to +125°C and 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
    Temperature coefficient 0.03%/°C over 0–71°C.
    Soldering temperature 265°C maximum for 3–5 seconds, measured 1.5 mm from the case.
    Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle, for 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.

    Dimensions and connection

    Dimensions Open-frame body: 10.5 × 7.5 × 16 mm (L × W × H); the mechanical side view marks 7.50 mm maximum depth.
    Mechanical drawing details PH horizontal drawing: 4.3 mm horizontal lead projection and 2.54 mm pin pitch. Pins are 0.64 × 0.64 mm, ±0.1 mm; general dimensional tolerance ±0.5 mm.
    PCB / connection orientation Top-view footprint uses a 2.54 mm grid and Ø1 mm holes (+0.2/−0). The illustrated left-to-right pin order is 1, 2, 3; identify the pin-1 mark and follow the PH drawing.
    Pin assignment Pin 1: +Vin; pin 2: GND; pin 3: +Vout. This is the positive-output application pin assignment.

    Typical application and installation

    External capacitors The typical application table specifies MLCC capacitors: input Ci = 10 µF / 50 V; output Co = 22 µF / 25 V.
    Application circuit connections In the positive application, the output capacitor connects between pin 3 (+Vout) and pin 2 (GND). The schematic marks its positive side at +Vout. The input capacitor connects between +Vin and GND.
    Combined positive and negative rails The illustrated combined application uses two separate modules, one wired for positive output and one for negative output, with a common ground. Select an input voltage valid for both applications. A 10 µH LDM component is recommended in the negative-module input branch to reduce interference; the diagram does not establish same-rail current sharing.
    Accessories and assembly No dedicated accessory ordering code is specified in this series datasheet. External fuses, capacitors and the application-dependent inductor are circuit components selected for the system, not stated as items supplied with the regulator.

    Compliance, reliability and packing

    Isolation and safety Non-isolated input/output. EAC TP TC 020/2011 approved as listed in the catalogue.
    EMC emission BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32): conducted emission is listed as N/A; radiated Class B is specified without additional EMC components. Observe the application-circuit and input-capacitor requirements and verify the completed system.
    EMC immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 2, ±4 kV contact ESD; BS EN/EN61000-4-3: Level 2, 3 V/m; BS EN/EN61000-4-4: Level 1, 0.5 kV; BS EN/EN61000-4-5: Level 1, 0.5 kV line-to-line; BS EN/EN61000-4-6: Level 2, 3 V (e.m.f.).
    MTBF 1800 K hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
    Construction Open-frame PCB construction; the series plastic-case specification does not make the PV/PH open frame a cased package.
    Single-unit weight reference 2 g, catalog packing reference per unit; not a measured net-weight or parcel-weight claim.
    Standard packing 150 pieces per box / 395 g box gross weight; 1,800 pieces per carton (12 boxes) / 6.2 kg carton gross weight. Antistatic-foam box: 220 × 195 × 45 mm. Standard carton: 620 × 230 × 230 mm. These are manufacturer bulk-packing references, not a statement of the quantity included with an individual purchase.
    Manufacturer warranty 3 years as stated in the series datasheet.

    System installation and EMC

    Complete-system EMC verification Verify EMC with the regulator installed in the final equipment and connected to a representative load. Wiring, assembly and the application affect the result. Follow the model's specified EMC conditions and any required external components; the linked EMI testing guidance does not certify the finished equipment.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa